Experience the coal-hauling times of the Sydney & Louisburg Railway and its marine connections. Words, pictures and artifacts tell the story in and around the 1895 station and engine house. An extensive model of the town’s coal-to-ship transfer now occupies the freight shed. A large quilt display and vintage passenger and freight cars are seen here including Nova Scotia’s oldest passenger coach, built in 1881. The Louisburg Station on Route 22 is also home to an important Visitor Information Centre.

  • Telephone: 1-902 733-2720
  • Hours: Open mid May – mid October Daily 9 to 5 (July & August 8 to 8)
  • Facebook page: www.facebook.com/slrailway/
  • Email: sandl@seaside.ns.ca

Additional Information

  • 10 Parking Spaces
  • Bus Tours Welcome
  • Gift Shop
  • Picnic Area
  • Public Washrooms
  • Guides
  • Visitor Information Centre
  • Donations Welcome